The Many Colors of Seashells

colors of shells

Colors of Shells

In my last post I started the topic of the endless variety of seashells. I covered the different shapes of shells that I have used in my shell art and shell crafts. Today, I will cover the vast array of colors of seashells that are available, as well as, suggested uses for those seashells. There is a seashell available for every spectrum of the rainbow. They range in color from a light red tint to deep violet clam. There are also white, black, brown, tan, and gray colors. I have some suggested ones listed below.

  • Red–red coral, abalone, strawberry shells
  • Pink–melissas, coquinas, white cup shells, pink tellins, rose cups
  • Orange–cup shells, pectins, coquinas
  • Yellow–litorinas, tiny white cups, coquinas, pectins
  • Green–limpets, green litorinas, sea glass, abalone
  • Blue–cockles, periwinkles,abalone, coral, sea glass
  • Indigo–coquinas, purple clams
  • Violet–coquinas, purple clams, sea glass
  • Black–zebras, clams, scallops, pectins, columbella
  • White–coquinas, litorinas, arks, scallops, pectins, coral
  • Brown–Nassa persica, chulas, columbella, arks, pectins, scallops
  • Tan–umboniums, nassa persica, chulas, cowries, pectins, clams coquinas, arks
  • Gray–umboniums, litorinas, columbella, scallops, pectins, cup shells
Dolphin Sunset

Dolphin Sunset

I use the color of the seashells to work for me in the background of my seascapes. I use the lighter coquinas and gradually build up to the darker hues of the same color for the sunset. I do the same thing for the water area of the picture. Using the lighter, almost white with some lavender and build up to the deep violet color, using some white in between rows to represent the waves of the water. Check out the dolphin sunset picture above.

Shell Flower Picture

Shell Flower Picture

I have also used colored shells for my Shell flowers. Using shells with a light hue as one flower, and then using darker hues of the same color for other flowers, makes a nice flower picture. Check out the picture above, and the one below.

Sailors Valentine

Sailors Valentine

With all the colors available to us it is hard not to be creative. I hope you have been inspired. Leave your comment or post your project below. I would love to see what you have created.

Next blog post will be about all the sizes of seashells.

Related Posts:

Shapes of Seashells

Shapes of Seashells

Leave a Reply

